• If You Believe, Why Don't You Listen?

If You Believe, Why Don't You Listen?

by Pastor Chuck Kuhler

There are more than 320,000 churches in America, and fully 85% of our population claim to be "Christian." You would think that with numbers like that, our slide into degeneracy would be headed in the opposite direction and our standards of life would be vastly improving. Obviously, something is amiss as all of the so-called Christian do not appear to be having any effect of value and consideration.

I am well aware of some translation error to be found in modem versions of the Bible, but I am not going to consider that point in this message. As a Pastor, I encounter all sorts of Christians with various levels of Scriptural understanding and comprehension. The one question that I often ask of everyone is: "Do you believe that the Bible is the Word of God as written and preserved by divinely-inspired men?"

Without any hesitation, most agree with my question in the affirmative manner. I then follow up with a second question which most often perplexes and confounds their smug and confident answer; "If as you claim, the Bible is the Word of God ... why do you ignore and not heed His Word?"

I have often stated that the answer to every problem in life can be found in the Bible. Very few, however, consult the Word of God in search of answers to the problems of life. This attitude is mainly responsible for the conditions that we find surrounding us today. It was not too many years ago that families read the Scriptures and were well versed in the contents. Now we have allowed the "entertainment" industry to amuse us with the garbage that they televise into our homes.